What I’ve Been Reading

Dear Readers, so I’m getting back into the groove of reading excellent pieces of journalism online and I’ll post a couple of things I’ve read recently that I highly recommend perusing (what a great word).

If you’ve seen the Facebook movie – The Social Network – here is a great piece in Vanity Fair profiling Sean Parker : Vanity Fair: With A Little Help From His Friends

A very interesting NYT article on an Arabic poet who is a favorite for the Nobel Prize in Literature: NYT: A Revolutionary of Arabic Verse

There are a couple more I have backlogged to post, so I’ll get around to those soon. On another note – did you know it now costs $160 to take the GRE. I mean seriously. This business of Standardized Testing after college might as well be a violation of my Constitutional rights for all its applicability to applying for a Master’s Program in Middle East Studies and Arabic. Seriously, haven’t these people over at the “ETS” made enough money off us students? I mean what is this ETS nonsense anyway? Some sort of private corporation bent on world domination.

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Reading

  1. got my GRE on nov. 10th 😦 😦 😦

    on the other hand, great links! I am absolutely reading them right now and might even post follow up comments

  2. Excellent πŸ™‚ Good luck! You’ll have to tell me how it is… and we’ll commiserate over it when I visit for Thanksgiving. I’m mainly concerned about the math part but I’ve really got to jump on studying. Did you buy a book for it? I find the Princeton Review one to be helpful. I’m glad you read my blog! It’s so great whenever I see you’ve left a comment.

Leave a Reply

