What I’m Reading… Today

As I mentioned before I’ve got quite a backlog of articles to get up on here… but here are a couple Articles of Interest I’ve come across today. For your perusal:

Here are some older articles I’ve pulled up recently regarding PFC Bradley Manning – who is suspected of being the source of the WikiLeaks controversy. These articles paint an interesting profile of the man…

Daily Mail UK: Downloaded onto Lady Gaga CDs and transferred to a memory stick: The staggeringly simple theft of 250,000 top secret documents

Some select quotes:

‘I would come in with music on a CD-RW labelled with something like Lady Gaga… erase the music… then write a compressed split file,’ he wrote in an online chat.

‘No one suspected a thing. (I) listened and lip-synched to Lady Gaga’s Telephone while “exfiltrating” possibly the largest data spillage in America history.

‘Hillary Clinton and several thousand diplomats around the world are going to have a heart attack when they wake up one morning and find an entire repository of classified foreign policy is available, in searchable format, to the public.

‘Everywhere there’s a U.S. post, there’s a diplomatic scandal that will be revealed. Worldwide anarchy in CSV format. It’s beautiful and horrifying.

‘Information should be free. It belongs in the public domain.’

Meanwhile, Manning, who is openly homosexual, is sitting in a military prison awaiting his fate.

Yep. Definitely gay if you’ve downloaded classified material onto Lady Gaga CDs. Haha. I have to say, the U.S. Military pretty much got what it deserved given its policy towards homosexuals. The irony is fantastic. But at the same time, I feel bad for the guy. Sure, the legal framework justifies his prosecution for leaking classified information. But hell, he’s under suicide watch in a cell. The poor guy. I honestly think they should just let him go. Let him go live a quiet gay life in Montana or something. He deserves freedom and love as much as any other American, let alone any other human being. Though it would probably be enormously unpopular, President Obama should issue a pardon for this man.

Here’s another NYT profile of Manning’s life:
NYT: Early Struggles of Soldier Charged in Leak Case

And the Wikipedia profile… where you can find these article listed in the references:
Wikipedia: Bradley Manning

Perhaps it’s just because I’m gay, but I’m kinda turned on by his international status now… I mean, I would totally hook-up with him for blowing the cover off my hopeful, future prospective employer, the U.S. Department of State.

I’m honestly surprised his case hasn’t been championed by more online Gay-rights publications or foundations.

It’s certainly one thing to betray state secrets, and I am by no means attempting to justify what he did, but at the same time, you have to have some sympathy for him, as a gay American in the Military and as a fellow human being.

Leave a Reply

